News Capsules

Bush Elected President of ASHP

Johnson, Eckel, Tyler, Elected to Board of Directors


Paul W. Bush, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, FASHP, has been elected as ASHP’s new President-elect. Thomas J. Johnson, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCCCP, BCPS, FASHP, FCCM, was elected as Treasurer, and Stephen F. Eckel, Pharm.D., M.H.A., BCPS, FASHP, and Linda S. Tyler, Pharm.D., FASHP, were elected to serve on the ASHP Board of Directors.

Dr. Bush is Chief Pharmacy Officer at Duke University Hospital in Durham, N.C. He has served on the ASHP Board of Directors, was chair of the Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers, and served as a member of the Commission on Credentialing, the Commission on Goals, and the Practice Model Summit Advisory Committee. He is a Past President of the Southeastern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists and a recipient of the 2011 John W. Webb Lecture Award.
Dr. Johnson is Assistant Vice President of Hospital Pharmacy for Avera Health in Sioux Falls, S.D. He has served on the ASHP Board of Directors; was a member of the Council on Education and Workforce Development, the Committee on Nominations, and the Task Force on Organizational Structure; and is a Past President of the South Dakota Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Dr. Eckel is Associate Dean for Global Engagement, Clinical Associate Professor, and Vice Chair of Graduate and Postgraduate Education at the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy in Chapel Hill. He is a Past Chair of the ASHP Council on Pharmacy Practice, a North Carolina delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates, and Past President of the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists.
Dr. Tyler is the Chief Pharmacy Officer for University of Utah Health Care in Salt Lake City. She is a Past Chair of the ASHP Council on Pharmacy Practice Management, a Past Director-at-Large of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists, and a Past President of the Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Bush and Johnson will begin their terms immediately. Eckel and Tyler will begin their three-year terms in June 2017.
ASHP thanks the members of the Board of Canvassers for their work to certify the election results. The members of the Board of Canvassers are Steve Levy (Chair), Ted Friedman, Anthony Longo, Phillip Manning, and Frank Sosnowski.

# # #


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing