ASHP Donald E. Francke Medal

Established in 1971, the ASHP Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice. The medal, which is conferred at the discretion of the ASHP Board of Directors, may be presented annually at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting or other appropriate function, at which the recipient will provide a lecture on an aspect of international pharmacy. One award may be conferred each year.

2016 Recipient

Francke Medal

Lee C. Vermeulen, M.S., B.S. Pharm., FCCP, FFIP
Director, Center for Clinical Knowledge Management
UW Health
Clinical Professor of Pharmacy
University of Wisconsin – Madison School of Pharmacy
Madison, WI

Criteria and Eligibility

ASHP members are invited, annually, to suggest nominees in writing with substantiating evidence. Nominations should state the significant international contributions that the nominee has made to advance pharmacy practice.

Current ASHP Board members and ASHP staff are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

The deadline for nominations is October 1, 2016. Nominations are to be transmitted electronically using the ASHP Awards Nomination Form. To reference the criteria for the award, please see the 2016 Call for Award Nominations.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact:

Rachael McGarry
Office of Member Relations

Current and Past Recipients

2016 Lee C. Vermeulen
2015 Roberto Frontini
2014 Andrew Lofts Gray
2013 Eduardo Osvaldo Savio Quevedo
2012 Henri R. Manasse, Jr.
2011 Barry R. Goldspiel
2010 Agathe Wehrli
2009 William A. Zellmer
2008 Jacqueline Surugue
2007 Toshitaka Nabeshima
2006 Philip J. Schneider
2006 Thomas S. Thielke
2005 Colin R. Hitchings
2004 Dwight R. Tousignaut
2003 Toby Clark
2001 Joaquin Ronda Beltran
1996 Carl D. Lyons
1995 Gloria N. Francke
1986 Joseph A. Oddis
1978 T. Douglas Whittet
1971 Donald E. Francke


ASHP Product Listing