ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award

Established in 2001, the ASHP Board of Directors’ Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in acute and ambulatory care settings. The award, which is conferred at the discretion of the ASHP Board of Directors, may be presented annually at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting or other appropriate function. Up to two awards may be conferred each year.

2016 Recipient

mary Ann Kliethermes

Mary Ann Kliethermes, Pharm.D., B.S. Pharm.
Vice-Chair and Professor
Chicago College of Pharmacy
Midwestern University
Downers Grove, IL

Criteria and Eligibility

ASHP members are invited, annually, to suggest nominees in writing with substantiating evidence. Nominations should state how the nominee meets the following criteria:

  1. Record of having led sustained, progressive improvements in pharmacy services within specific U.S. hospitals or health systems, and
  2. Record of having achieved national prominence (such as through publications and presentations at professional conferences) for practice leadership.

Nominees must be pharmacists licensed to practice in the United States and current ASHP members. Current ASHP Board members and ASHP staff are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

The deadline for nominations is October 1, 2016. Nominations are to be transmitted electronically using the ASHP Awards Nomination Form. To reference the criteria for the award, please see the 2016 Call for Award Nominations.

If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact:

Rachael McGarry
Office of Member Relations

Current and Past Recipients

2016 Mary Ann Kliethermes, Vice-Chair and Professor, Chicago College of Pharmacy, Midwestern University
2015 Richard L. Lucarotti, Professor (Clinical) and Director of Experiential Education, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Wayne State University
2014 Patricia C. Kienle, Director of Accreditation and Medication Safety, Cardinal Health Innovative Delivery Solutions
2013 James G. Stevenson, Chief Pharmacy Officer, University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers
2012 Janet Silvester, Director of Pharmacy and Emergency Services, Martha Jefferson Hospital
2011 Jerry Siegel, (Retired) Senior Director of Pharmaceutical Services, Ohio State University Medical Center
2010 Daniel M. Ashby, Senior Director of Pharmacy, The John Hopkins Hospital
2009 Douglas E. Miller, Vice President and Chief of Pharmacy, Grady Health System
2008 James A. Jorgenson, Administrative Director of Pharmacy Services, University of Utah Health Care
2008 Michael D. Sanborn, Corporate Pharmacy Director, Baylor Health Care System
2007 William W. Churchill, Director of Pharmacy Services, Brigham and Women's Hospital
2006 David M. Angaran, Affiliate Professor of Pharmacy, University of Florida College of Pharmacy
2005 Rita R. Shane, Director, Pharmacy Services, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center 
2004 Sara J. White, Director of Pharmacy, Stanford Hospital 
2003 Billy W. Woodward, Executive Director, Scott White Health Systems, Department of Pharmacy
2002 David A. Zilz, University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Madison, ASHP Past-President and former Treasurer
2001 John E. Ogden, Chief Consultant for Pharmacy Benefits Management, Department of Veterans Affairs


ASHP Product Listing