ASHP Best Practices Award

The ASHP Best Practices Award is an annual recognition program developed and awarded by ASHP and sponsored by Amgen. Since 1999, this award program recognizes outstanding practitioners in pharmacy who have successfully implemented innovative systems that demonstrate best practices in pharmacy practice.

Call for Nominations

The application period has passed. Award winners will be notified by October 3, 2016.

The application period will reopen in April 2017, with a submission deadline of August 1, 2017.


Applicants must be ASHP members practicing in an acute or ambulatory care setting in the U.S., such as an ambulatory care clinic, chronic care, home health care, inpatient care, or outpatient pharmacy.  More than one successful program from a health system may be submitted for consideration. Persons employed by Amgen are not eligible to participate.

Selection Committee

ASHP convenes an independent panel of experts to evaluate applications. A maximum of six pharmacy programs are recognized each year. Award recipients receive a plaque and present a summary of their program at a poster session and reception during ASHP’s Midyear Clinical Meeting in December. Award recipients are responsible for their own travel expenses to attend the meeting.

Applicants will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Originality and innovative nature of the program
  • Significance of the program to the health system
  • Demonstration of improvements
  • Significance of the program to pharmacy practice advancement, and
  • Quality of the descriptive report.

Contact Information

For more information about this award program, contact Maria Carias, Membership Program Manager at 301-664-8820 or email


ASHP Product Listing